Autodidact: self-taught

Oct
05
2012

Hell With the Lid Taken Off Book One: River of Mud

by V. L. Craven

Lee Adam Herold draws/writes Chopping Block , a wonderfully twisted webcomic about a serial killer named Butch. Butch is a cross between Dahmer, Bates and Gein.

And now he’s written a full-length novel set in Victorian-era Pittsburg (the original spelling). It concerns a young boy who is sent to Hell to run an errand for his uncle, who has made a deal with a demon of some description. The boy has a very rare coin that everyone in the Underworld would love to have.

The writing is superb, the characters engaging and the plot inventive. The atmosphere is palpable. It’s perfect for fans of Dickens, Gaiman and Dante.

This was the first book in the series and I’m looking forward to the next.

 

Apparently no longer available from Smashwords, you can get it through Barnes and Noble .

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress